Sub-Counties in Kisii County

There are 11 sub-counties in Kisii County. Each of these sub-counties have the same constituency boundaries, except for two constituencies that have more than one sub-county.

What is a sub-county in Kenya?

A sub-county in Kenya is an equivalent of the former districts under the former provinces. Since the new constitution led to the formation of new administration units, provinces ceases to exist. There were eight provinces in Kenya before the creation of 47 counties. These included Nyanza, Western, Central, Nairobi, Coast, North Eastern, Easter, and Rift Valley.

The two constituencies in Kisii County that have more than one sub-county are:

  1. Bobasi
  2. South Mugirango

Bobasi constituency and South Mugirango constituencies have two sub-counties each.

Below are all the 9 constituencies and the 11 sub-counties:

The sub-counties work directly with county government.[17]

  1. Bobasi Constituency
    • Nyamache sub-county
    • Sameta sub-county
  2. Bonchari Constituency
    • Kisii South sub-county
  3. Bomachoge Borabu Constituency
    • Kenyenya sub-county
  4. Bomachoge Chache Constituency
    • Gucha sub-county
  5. Kitutu Chache North Constituency
    • Marani sub-county
  6. Kitutu Chache South Constituency
    • Kitutu Central sub-county
  7. Nyaribari Chache Constituency
    • Kisii Central sub-county
  8. Nyaribari Masaba Constituency
    • Masaba South sub-county
  9. South Mugirango Constituency
    • Etago sub-county
    • Gucha South sub-county

Now you know all the sub-counties in Kisii County and what sub-county your home constituency forms (or sub-counties in the case of South Mugirango and Bobasi).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *